Ways to increase our faith

Posted: June 20, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags: ,

“Do your best to improve your faith. You can do this by adding goodness, understanding, self-control, patience, devotion to God, concern for others and love. If you keep growing in this way, it will show that what you know about our Lord Jesus Christ has made your lives useful and meaningful. But if you don’t grow, you are like someone who is nearsighted or blind, and you have forgotten that your past sins are forgiven.”-2 Peter 1: 5-9

Yesterday was busy day for me. In the morning, I attended bible study, praise and worship, and cell meeting. After that, I immediately went to a meeting with a human right’s group to volunteer as part of their secretariat. I came home late last night and during my prayer I ask Him “How can I be able to handle all the responsibilities assigned to me, then?” I am aspiring to become cell leader this year, and assigned to assist in launching the newsletter of this HR group, aside from other tasks and volunteer activities I am currently into.

My devotion for today was perfect. He gave answer to my prayer immediately. I believe He wants to teach me that I should have FAITH  more in Him so that I may be able to accomplish these tasks.

God was really good, He did not tell me only that I should have faith but also He showed me the ways how can I improve it. These are the following:

1. By adding goodness, concern for others and love

Having the responsibility to work for a human rights organization will open the doors of opportunity me serving the needy, therefore, adding goodness to my daily life routine. When I assist in lending paralegal assistance to those who were victims of human rights violation, I am not only providing comfort to them but also I am learning during the entire process of their experience.

2.  By adding understanding

Aside from that the experience is the best teacher, immersing myself to reality will expand my understanding of the situation I and people around me, situated in. By learning what the problems are will be able to open my eyes to see and do something for possible solutions that I can offer even in my simplest way.

3. By adding self control

Because I have to do more multi tasking in a very limited time and resources, I am being taught today that I should have more self-control. Self control in a way of finance and time management and my relationship with other people. I should control how I spend my money so I can use it in more quality things; on how I manage my time so I can do more the important and urgent matters; and finally, to control my emotion in dealing with different people and situations.

4. By adding patience

When sometimes we don’t get easily the result we want to have but we should have it because there were other important  assignments we should spend more time to, will really cause us to be impatient. Lack of time management and procrastination sometimes are also hindrances to achieve positive results. But thanks to today’s Gospel message that I should add more patience into my life now that I have more accountabilities. Doing a lot of multi tasking is mostly exhausting but truly, patience is a virtue.

5. Devotion to God

This is one of the greatest lessons I’ve learned yesterday during our bible study and cell meeting. After Ate Aileen had discussed the Four U’s in Doing the Campus Revolution task: 1. Utang Na Loob Kay Jesus Christ 2. Unahin Si Jesus Christ Sa Buhay Natin 3. Ugnayan Kay Jesus Christ and 4. Umani Tayo Para sa Panginoon, I learned that everyday should be devoted to spending time learning, wanting, needing and loving God more so we can share His greatness to others and eventually win souls so that they may also be saved.

PRAYER:

Thank you  for your Words, today. Thank you for showing me how can I further increase my faith in You. And thank you for giving me more opportunities to fullfil my destiny- that is to be of your humble servant by serving Your people for your glory and honor. All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

