Signs Here, There and Everywhere

Posted: February 22, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags: ,

He looked, and behold, the bush was burning, yet it was not consumed. And Moses said, “I will turn aside to see this great sight, why the bush is not burned.” When the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called to him out of the bush, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” Then he said, “Do not come near; take your sandals off your feet, for the place on which you are standing is holy ground.” …”Exodus 3:1-22

I believe that just like in the Old Testament, God answers our prayers through different medium: by other people, through messages we found everywhere, and in the Bible.

In the above Scripture, God spoke to Moses through a burning bush. If we have prayers and need answers, the things that we should do are to listen, be aware, and have faith because God answers.

This happened to me many times, and I love sharing this story:

I have a dear friend who is always misunderstood because he just keep silent and when he’s mad, he’ll just ignore you as if you’re inexistent. Many of his friends have left him because of his attitude (this is according to his mom). And many times, I also want to let him go but I just can’t, for the following reasons:

1. One time, I really got mad at him. I prayed that “I hate him so much”.

I was going to work that Saturday morning, when I am to ride a jeepney, a truck passed me by, carrying the message: “HATE THE SIN, LOVE THE SINNER.” So that very moment, I prayed, “OK, God. Hate the sin, love the sinner.”

2. Again, one time I prayed. I asked Him, “Why am I supposed to be his friend? Was it to answer his prayer, “to find the One that will show him the Way”? But I can’t be his the One, I can only show him that “Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the Life”.

That same day, everywhere I looked, I found numbers ending in 7777: like plate numbers, contact numbers in different signages, and writings in the wall!

So when I arrived in the office, I checked what was the meaning of this. And believe me, 7777 as Spiritual Sign means,

“This sign indicates that a lesson has been learnt. It is a sign of acknowledgment and achievement- you have learnt a lesson that your Spirit Guides want you to learn about your life.”

3. Again, he hated me for reason I do not understand. I prayed that, ” if he really does not want me to be his friend then it’s time for me to let him go”. I opened my Bible, and this is what was written,

“If our faith is strong, we should be patient with the Lord’s followers whose faith is weak. We should try to please them instead of ourselves. We should think of their good and try to help them by doing what pleases them. Even Christ did not try to please himself.”- Romans 15: 1-3

So, I pleased him with his requests and I understood his ways.

4. Lately, he deleted me on his Facebook account for reason I could not comprehend but his mom told me he was not angry at me. So, I prayed again, I told God “that I really want to let him go.”

But as I opened the Bible, this is what was written:

“Finally, all of you should agree and have concern and love for each other. You should also be kind and humble. Don’t be hateful and insult people just because they are hateful and insult you. Instead, treat everyone with kindness. You are God’s chosen ones, and he will bless you.”-1 Peter 3: 8-9

5. I prayed, “What shall I do to him?” I got the Bible, and this page I opened:

“When they had finished breakfast, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon, son of John, do you love me more than these?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Feed my lambs.” He said to him a second time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” He said to him, “Yes, Lord; you know that I love you.” He said to him, “Tend my sheep.” He said to him the third time, “Simon, son of John, do you love me?” Peter was grieved because he said to him the third time, “Do you love me?” and he said to him, “Lord, you know everything; you know that I love you.” Jesus said to him, “Feed my sheep.”-John 21:15-17

6. So I understood that God wanted me to share to him the Gospel. But I prayed, I told Him, “Your task was so hard to do. Why should I obey You?”

Again, I opened the Bible and this is what was written:

“Stay joined to me and let my teachings become part of you. Then you can pray for whatever You want, and your prayer will be answered. When you become faithful disciples of mine, my Father will be honored. I have loved you, just as my Father has loved me so remain faithful to my love for you. If you obey Me, I will keep loving you just as my Father keeps loving me because I have obeyed Him.” John 15: 7-10

7. So for the past few days, I send him everyday Bible verses. But just this morning, I prayed again. I told Him that “I really want to stop. My text message to him this morning will be my last.”

I came to the office and Gelo, our OJT called me. He said that I should watch the video of The Word Exposed by Bishop Chito Tagle every Sunday at Channel 5.

 So we watched the video, and Bishop Chito said, “You should have no hatred, no revenge, no grudge in your hearts. Only love.”

I told Gelo, “What? Love again?”

I returned to my table and opened my Didache. I was able to open this page that was written,

“But love your enemies and do good to them.”-Luke 6: 35

PRAYER:

Isn’t amazing how You easily answer my prayers? The best of it is that You keep on reminding me to love other people- not to hate nor take revenge nor to grudge, and instead to love them and be good. Thank You for the signs you’ve shown me from the very beginning. And forgive me sometimes if I question and fail to obey You.

All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

