The Most And Second Important Commandments

Posted: February 9, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags:

“Teacher, what is the most important commandment in the Law? Jesus answered, ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, and mind. This is the first and most important commandment. The second most important commandment is like this one. And it is, ‘Love others as you love yourself.'”- Matthew 22: 36-39

Last night, I checked my Facebook account and I found out that one of my dearest friends deleted me on his friends’ list. Honestly, I really do not understand what went wrong. I texted him many times asking if I did any mistakes but he did not reply. His mom said that his son was not angry with me, in fact, he often asks if I texted her or if we still have communication.

Loving others as much as we love ourselves is one of the most difficult of all the commandments. How can we love people who were rude to us for reasons we don’t understand? How can we show care for them who ignore us? Indeed, God is good. He gives blessings for both the obedient and disobedient followers. He is merciful, kind and patient to both sinners and saints. He loves everybody unconditionally. He gives us marvelous ability to choose to die with Christ and go to heaven or to reject Him and go to hell.

PRAYER:

Thank you for sharing me the wisdom of loving through your Words today. I pray that You may grant me more patience, provide loving and merciful heart, and give more understanding so that I may love others- even those who are mean to me- as much as I love myself. All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

