The Lost Sheep

Posted: February 8, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags:

“Let me ask you this. What would you do if you had 100 sheep and one of them wandered off? Wouldn’t you leave the 99 on the hillside and go look for the one that had wandered away? I am sure that finding it would make you happier than having the 99 that never wandered off. That’s how it is with Your Father in heaven. He doesn’t want any of these little ones to be lost.”- Matthew 19:12-14

Last Sunday, Ate Ai’s Network had a meeting with her “disciples” and I am one of them. It was the first time I attended so I was still shy with my other cell mates. Ate Ai kept record of the report each cell leaders submitted to her. The report contained the progress of the spiritual growth each members had every week. When members failed to attend the Dawn Watch or any regular church activity, the cell leader reminds them to spend their time for God.

I am overwhelmed how Ate Ai and other cell leaders are determined to “Win Souls”. Ate Ai after discussing about how Joseph became a great leader, she asked us if we were willing to follow his example. Every one affirmed.

I remember one night when I opened my bible, I was able to turn the page to John 21: Jesus Appears to Seven Disciples. In this Chapter, Jesus asked His disciple Peter third times if he loves Him. Peter was hurt because Jesus had asked him three times if he loved him, so he told Jesus, “Lord, you know everything. You know I love You.” Jesus replied, “Feed my lamb.” (John 21: 17)

Today’s gospel teaches us how God will be glad to find again his lost sheep. Lost sheep means a sinner or someone who disobey His laws. In our life time, we were once become a lost sheep because we all failed to obey God. But God is so good that He never allows us to wander. In fact, He is the one who finds us when we gets lost! How would I know that? Because I did! I was once lost and God used other people to find me and keep me on track! Now, it is my turn to find other lost sheep and turn them to Him. I am very sure that He will be very glad to have them back!

PRAYER:

Thank you for using other people so that I may find You again. Now that You have assigned me the same task of finding other lost sheep, I will do my best to share this wonderful gift You have given me- the salvation- so that others may also experience Your greatness. All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

