Global Warming Is Not A Hoax!

Posted: February 4, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags: ,

Then God said, “Let us make man in our image, and let them rule over the fish of the sea and the birds of the air, over the livestock, over all the earth and over all the creatures that move along the ground.”-Genesis 1:26

“Hindi natin maaaring ipagwalang-bahala ang banta ng global warming. Hindi po special effects sa mga pelikula ang mga nababalitaan ninyong sakuna sa ating bansa at sa iba’t ibang panig ng mundo. Totoo na po ito.”- President Benigno Aquino III on his Facebook Official Page

(We should not take for granted the impacts of global warming. The disasters we see on country and world wide news are not like the special effects we see on movies. These are real.)

The statement above was officially released by P-Noy on his Facebook account as his wallpost yesterday. Of course, this made me proud to have him as our President.

A person named Juan Dela Cruz commented that global warming was a hoax! According to him, Al Gore used the issue to earn billions. This is exactly what he commented:

“(K)ita mo na, sumama ka pa Global Warming hoax. Walang Global WArming. Naka heater ka ba sa kuwarto mo? si Al Gore naka demanda na nga, gusto mo pa yatang sumama?? PUro na Snow Storm global warming ka pa?Global Warming is a HOAX so countries can impose CARBON TAX on their citizens, it is meant to boost CARBON TRADING in which Al Gore is due to earn Billions. Ala talagang pagaasa ito!!! Nagbabsa po ba kayo ng news kahit konti? nabasa nyo ba ang CLIMATE GATE? ano ba naman yan!!!”

As a Filipino I was offended on his statement. Because this person used “Juan Dela Cruz” as his code name, I felt responsible to answer- I would like to emphasize that not all Filipinos are like him: indifferent. So I replied on the thread:

“@Juan Dela Cruz. Kelangan ba naka heater ka na sa kwarto mo bago ka pa maniwala sa global warming?(Do you need to use heater inside your room before you will believe that global warming issue is true?) Hindi lang si Al Gore nagsabi tungkol dun… (It is not only Al Gore who says about its existence.) we have Filipino scientists also who can prove na totoo ang global warming… I know because some of them are my professors from UPLB! And they are reliable sources! If you don’t care for our earth, what planet are you on?=)”

I hate leaving arguments on social networking sites since I respect opinion of others as much as I can. But last night, I can’t help but to express my views because I worry that if some people may read Juan Dela Cruz’s comment, they might believe in his opinions. At least I provided readers some options to think about: whether to believe Juan or not. But I take my stand that GLOBAL WARMING ISSUE IS NOT A HOAX! If you’re still on doubt, try to observe on your surroundings, ask people around you if the climate was the same as the past few years. I know because I just came from Mt. Pulag where the climate drastically failed! Many of the mountaineers who came from Mt. Pulag five times or more was unable to climb the Summit only this year because they cannot stand the cold that dropped 2 degrees and below!

PRAYER:

Forgive me God because I hate Juan Dela Cruz. I just could not comprehend why he is so pathetic. I understand that we are in a free country and we can express anything we want to say, but I hope he’ll be held more responsible on expressing his views.

Your Word reminds us to be good stewards of the earth- to protect it from destruction. As Christians, we should not only be good to people around us but also to be kind to animals, trees and Your other creations.

All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

 

Leave a Reply

