God is Love

Posted: January 28, 2011 in Daily Devotion
Tags:

“God is love. If we keep on loving others, we will stay in our hearts with God, and He will stay with us. If we truly love others and live as Christ did in this world, we won’t be worried about the day of judgment. A real love for others will chase those worries away. The thought of being punished is what makes us afraid. It shows that we have not really learned to love.”-1 John 4:16-18

This particular verse answered my prayer: last night, I prayed because I was confused and caught between letting go or staying- I would like to let go a particular person who I find hard to understand his acts toward me; but deep inside I can’t let go since I knew he needed someone to hang on him especially these period of his trials. 

Today, God teaches us that He is love. And if we really love Him, we should never cease in loving others. Many times I was worried that this dear friend will not return favor or appreciate the things I’ve done for him, but today, God’s word reveals that if I truly love someone (or others) I should not worry and be afraid; since these were signs of not really learned to love.

PRAYER:

Thank you, God for teaching me how to truly love- without expecting anything in return. Today, I learned that no matter how people respond to our love for them, the mere act of loving is something we do also to You. People may not care or love the way we do to them, but I am still grateful that You have used me to show others how You love them through me. All these I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

